Weekly Photo Challenge: Blurred Memory

“…And that, son, is exactly what a desert elephant looked like. Close your eyes tightly, and imagine what a wonderful creature it used to be.”

begin 2004 080“Gee dad! Really? They used to live here?”

“Yep…right here, in the desert. It was a long time ago, when they were still protected.”b2

“Wow! I would have loved to see one.”

“They were quite magnificent. For a while it looked as if they might have been saved, But….”

b5“Aw no, dad! Don’t tell me…”

“I’m sorry, son, but they didn’t survive, I’m afraid.”

“And now, dad?”

b4“We can only imagine them.They once lived here…free and harmless. Only their memory lives on.”

“But I’ve never seen one, dad! I can’t remember something I’ve never seen!”

“That, my son, is true. Unfortunately the poachers didn’t care.”

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Blurred Memory

  1. BohemianMamma

    Powerful.
    Same sad story in my dad’s village for a different, but also man-made reason, draught.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Upward Mobility | litadoolan

Leave a comment